Siemens STL Help

Hello all. I am a newbie when it comes to Siemens and I have looked in the STL programming help but there are some things that isn't explained very well if at all. I will copy and paste a chunk of code and I hope someone can explain what this means.

#IN0 is DB100, I know that, but it says to open DB100 and then transfer AR1 to DB100.DBD0. What is AR1? and what does the following two statements mean? L PID [AR1, P#8.0] T PQD [ AR1 , P#12.0 ].

SET
SAVE
OPN #IN0
TAR1 %DBD0
L %DBD8
LAR1
L PID [ AR1 , P#8.0 ]
T %DBD38
A %DBX41.6
AN %DBX41.5
= %DBX26.6
JCN M000
L DW#16#40000000
T PQD [ AR1 , P#12.0 ]
L B#16#0
T %DBB4
JU M001

Where have the percentage signs come from - can you post a screen shot of the code instead of copy/paste. What platform are you using Step7 V5.5 or TIA portal?

I am using TIA portal. I have a program, paper copy, and re-creating it in Portal. The program is in a machine we have and the file is too old for Portal to automatically convert it for me and I don't have the Step 7 classic software. The percentage signs were done by the program. I am really lost on the lines involving the registers and PID and PQD instructions. Actually, I should say I am lost on most of it.

Cutline_TIA_.jpg

PID refers to Peripheral Input DoubleWord
PQD refers to Peripheral Output DoubleWord

Devices in the hardware config will have a Peripheral Input/Output address.

AR1 is Address register 1

AR1 can be used for indirect addressing.

Code:
         L PID [AR1, P#8.0]

Means load the double word from the peripheral address calculated from the contents of AR1 + 8 bytes.

This is all part of FC0, if that matters.

So let me start from Line 1.
What is being Set and then Saved?
DB100 is IN0, so they open DB100 for access?
Then it transfers the contents of AR1 to DB100.DBD0? If so, what is the contents of AR1??
Then it loads DB100.DBD8? To where, ACC1?
Then it loads AR1 to ACC1 and moves DBD8 to ACC2?
I am lost after this.....

Cutline_TIA_Part.jpg