Converting 90-30 to RX3i, also need to convert comms to EGD

defcon.klaxon

Lifetime Supporting Member
Hi all,

I'm working on a project that is three-fold: replace GE 90-30 PLCs with RX3i, consolidate distributed program to master PLC (old PLC ran out of memory, so some of the existing program is executed on the slave PLC), and add some additional functionality (new pumps to recycle backwash water). This is my first project with GE and Machine Edition, so I'm still learning as I go. One of the things I'm trying to figure out right now is how to go from the old Genius Communications Module comms to ethernet.

I've accomplished the first step of taking the existing code and porting it over to RX3i (I've made sure the inputs and outputs are properly mapped, made sure the various modules are the proper p/n, etc etc). Now I'm trying to work out how to set up the comms, from GCM+ to ethernet. Looks like Ethernet Global Data is how the new system will be, but I have a few questions about how to implement it.

The old comms seemed straightforward; %G data is how it was shared, along with some %R registers. It seemed like as long as the data was set up, it would be shared between the two PLCs. Now, EGD seems to be a produce/consume model that needs to be scheduled, is that right? Also, do I now have to go through the entirety of the logic, figure out which data points are produced/consumed by which PLC, and create something more akin to a Message that contains that data?

I've got some info from my rep so I'm reading through it, but it's a bit dense...I'm trying to get a more plain english explanation of the differences between GCM+ and EGD, and realistically how much work it's gonna take to convert. Thanks all.

The Genius Communication modules also operate on a producer/consumer model. The only difference is that the block of data produced by the GCM is available to every device on the Genius network and not directed at a single consumer.