Siemens S7 5.5 Symbol Editor Export/Import

bhedding024

I have a S7 project originally written in German that I am trying to troubleshoot. Can the symbol table be exported into Excel then translated and imported back into S7 v5.5? Is there any way to do a bulk translation of the STL comments as well? I've been working with AB PLC's for 20 years and this is the first Siemens project I've really had to work on of any significance. Is it just me or is the learning curve pretty significant? Thanks for your help!

Welcome to forum.

Symbol table (Mx.x, MWx.x addresses etc.) can directly be copied to excel and back. Highlight symbols and copy with normal commands.

If you also need to change symbols inside DB-blocks, then you need excel addon for that. (it is also possible without, but easier with excel tool)

If you change DB-blocks, then they have different timestamp than PLC versions. For correcting timestamps you need to copy online versions to offline project after you have changed DB-blocks. PLC have only addresses, symbols are only save on offline project.

https://support.industry.siemens.co...-x-from-an-ms-excel-2003-table?dti=0&lc=en-WW

If you want to keep the original language do like Adfox say and go to menu options --> manage multilingual texts.

There you can choose to export everything that is translatable from the project HMIs also if they are included in the project.

Then you import the new texts and change to the new language. It is also possible to change back to the original language

Note that some things are not translatable like Symbol and In/Out parameters of FC/FC etc

I have a S7 project originally written in German that I am trying to troubleshoot. Can the symbol table be exported into Excel then translated and imported back into S7 v5.5? Is there any way to do a bulk translation of the STL comments as well?