Blower Motor Question

I am installing a new motor control panel for a fume collection system. The main fan motor is 200HP and will be started WYE/DELTA. This will be the only WYE/DELTA setup we have. I'm new to this technology, although I understand it's actually quite old. My question is, at what point do you transition from WYE to DELTA? Are you looking for a certain RPM? Current? I notice that the contactors are controlled by a timer. I found tons of info. on how they work, but nowhere that tells when to switch. Is there just a 'rule of thumb' time value depending on the application and load or something? Thanks in advance guys!

Andy

The only reference I've been able to find said to set the timer up to switch over when the motor is up to 90% speed.....
control.com forum
I dug through a few different manuals lying around, and found(like you already said) a ton of information about how they work, how to wire them up, but nothing on when to switch over.
For anyone else running into this stuff for the first time, here is a decent discussion on wye-delta starters.....
ron's forum site

wye delta timer

I don't know if this is the "correct" way or not.

Here is how I set the time value. I set the timer for a long period of time the first time starting up, while monitoring the current. As soon as the current makes a rapid drop, (near or below 100% nameplate value) I record how long that time period is, then stop the motor. I then adjust the wye-delta changeover timer to that value.

This is only my way, USE AT YOUR OWN RISK !!!

I would do as jrwb4gbm says. But I would add 30% extra time to allow for variations.
Be sure that you have the REAL conditions that the blower will experience when installation is finished.
Fume/dust extraction systems are often adjusted carefully to get the required air volumes at the varying suction points. That means that the load and thus the startup time will vary as well.