Indirect Tags in InTouch

krishna431

I am a beginner in SCADA programming and am currently using InTouch. I want to create an array of tagnames, though I know this is not possible. I was wondering if indirect tags could be used in a similar manner. Can someone please explain indirect tags and how to declare/use them? I've read the documentation, but it would help if I had some real world examples to help me understand.

Hi gclshortt, I've actually seen those posts before, and I didn't quite understand the concept still. Please correct me if I'm wrong, but from my understanding, this is the format to declare an indirect tag:

IndirectTagName.name = LocalTagName;

now do we have to use the actual word "name" here or is it user defined?

Thank you! I understood how to declare the indirect tag.

Now, is there any way to use the indirect tag similar to how a loop variable works? I mean, if I want to display 100 different values or messages, I'd have to initiate 100 different tag names. Is there a way to make this more efficient using indirect tags?

You can use string substitution for assigning the indirect tag.
ie
IndirectTag.Name = Tag + "05"

So with this example, if you had a structured tag naming system that ref elected an array, you could easily loop through the set.!

Last edited:
@lostcontrol Thank you. That looks promising. However, I'm still having a hard time implementing this in my application. My aim is to read a csv file and continuously save each field as its own tag.

[result = ] FileReadFields (filename, offset, starttag, numberoffields)

In the above line, would using an indirect tag work in place of the "starttag"? If the number of fields is 5, then I would want the same 5 tags to have a different value for each line of the csv file.

Not really sure without testing, but suspect it may providing the indirect tag has been assigned correctly & there are similar tags to the indirect that are offset by +1, then it should..