modbus communication in PLC k120s

kurobima

hallo,, my name is Bima, I'm a student & now I'm studying modbus communication in PLC. I use the master-k120s from LG. I learn from the manual book, but there is so much I don't understand. is there anyone who can help me? maybe some reference?
Thank you ^_^

thanks for your reply gclshortt ^_^ I have watch that video too, that's very helpful.
is there any other references? maybe some reference about modbus communication in PLC K120s in spesific?

Some things they don't tell you in the Modbus manuals.

A field device, like a VFD or a single loop controller is always a slave/server. An HMI is usually a master/client. HMI software can sometimes be either a master/client and a slave/server.

The slave will have data assigned to specific registers in a map/table of registers/addresses. The slave setup is
- serial comm (baud rate, number for data bits, stop bits) or IP addressing
- a unique slave ID address.
Beyond that, there isn't much to configure for a slave for read actions.

Sometimes a preliminary action is needed to write a value to a device, like some bit needs to be set first,then a write action will be valid (device specific)

The serial comm settings for both devices (RS-485/RS-232) need to be identical (word size 8 bits, one stop bit, parity) on both devices. Modbus RTU is 8 bit data word, Modbus ASCII is 7 bit data word.

Modbus RTU is typically done over RS-232 or RS-485. It is common to refer RS-485 as '2 wire', but in reality a 3rd wire, a signal common, should be used, too, so it's really 3 wire.

The RS-485 data lines go by various designations, A/B, (+)/(-), D/D-. Functionally negative is wired to negative, positive to positive, if the labeling is the same. However, different manufacturers label differently. Sometimes the (+) needs to go to (-). It won't damage the line drivers if it is connected backwards, but it won't work. This is a major issue when connecting devices from different manufacturers.