1746-bas Help

InControl

I am trying to use a 1746-BAS module in a SLC 5/03 to poll 3 Slaves
DF1 Half Duplex. I have lots of PLC experience but very little BASIC Module experience. I have read all the articles on the ab.com site pertaining to BAS module.
I am trying to use CALL 108 to set up port 2 for DF1 and CALL 123 to write to remote DF1. My BAS module is in Slot 3. So far I'm not having much luck.

logic.jpg

Er...

I can't help you with the BASIC module (too many years since I worked with one), but the code you posted sure is fishy.

On rung 23 you latch O:3/11 if O:3/11 is already set ?!? That doesn't make sense.

I think that what you are trying to do a CALL 53 in the BASIC module, and use O:0/13 as a flag to indicate that there is new data ready for the BASIC module. Is that it?

From what you say, you are trying to get data into the BAS module's port. The BAS module can be run stand-alone, and doesn't have to transmit any data back to the SCL.

Try using Print statements in your BAS program to see what kind of data the BAS module thinks it's getting.

Posting your BASIC code may be of more use than posting your PLC code, for now.

10 REM: CALL 108 ENABES THE DF1 COMMUNICATION TO PRT2
20 MODE (PRT2,9600,N,8,1,N,R)
30 PUSH 3
40 PUSH 10
50 PUSH 3
60 PUSH 4
70 PUSH 4
80 PUSH 3
90 CALL 108
100 PUSH 2
110 PUSH 2
120 PUSH 15
130 PUSH ASC(N)
140 PUSH 0
150 PUSH 5
160 PUSH 10
170 PUSH 1
180 PUSH 0
190 PUSH 0
200 CALL 123
210 POP S
220 IF (S<>0) THEN PRINT "UNSUCCESSEFUL CALL 123 SETUP"
222 GOTO 222

Thanks for your responses... More Info
What I am trying to do is get N118:0 out of one 5/03 and send it to n15:0 in another 5/03
originally i was using a MSG to do this but I had to install NET-ENI on CH. 0. So I added the basic module to give me an extra com port.

Having trouble understanding the way the BAS reads and writes, specifically - Call 122 is a Write to DF1.. does that mean the BAS is writing to other PLC or Local PLC?