AB Pico vs. Moeller Easy

ribble

I am a PLC novice. I have used Allen Bradley Pico controllers in the past and have the cable and PC software for it. I would like to use the same cable and software to program a Moeller Easy controller. The cable fits on the Moeller controller, and they are esentially the same controller. Is it possible to program it with the AB software? Has anyone had any experience or advice about this? Thanks.

You may have noticed that the even the Pico file extension is .eas
I'm about 95% sure that they are the same.
Though I've only used the Easysoft.
Give it a try I bet it will work.
Good Luck!
easyinfo.jpg

I program the Moeller easy relays and the AB Picos with just the Moeller "easysoft" software and cable from Moeller all the time. I see no reason why the same can't be accomplished with AB software.

As previously stated both relays are looking for exact same file type. Any software program that creates that extention file type will work.

I downloaded PicoSoft 3.0 last summer and love it, and have not found any problems with Moeller units, yet.

There has been at least one similar thread to this, already. As I recll, no one that posted had any problems nixing software and brands. I have spoke with a few people that did have problems (a while back), and I now think that it may have been some problems with firmware or possibly even operator error. I even suspected that the older "easy" boards were being repackaged into the "other" brand cases when Moeller update and expanded, but never got any confirmation on this.

Anyway, bottom line is "It Should Work". Others, and myself have used it. Many of us have used Moeller software on the other brands. In theory, if it has the .eas extension, and looks like a Pico or Easy, then it should be okay.

Since I am to lazy, maybe someone else will post a list or at least a number of all the different brands of "easy" relays, made by Moeller, that are out there now.