PIDE warnings rslogix5000

jghleiva

Hello,
I am trying to modify an existing program because the temperature is not stable (according to the operator it was never precise). So, I decided to use PIDE instruction along with a SRTP block to do the job. When I tried the autotune feature I received the following warning “Warning: Observed PV change was too small., Warning: Identified process gain is too small., Warning: Long deadtime process identified.”
I changed the CV Step size to different values (10, 20, 40& 80%) but I receive the same warnings and none of the slow, medium and fast response gave me a good result. This is my first time using the PIDE, I believe that I am doing something wrong. I attached the file. Thanks in advance for any inputs.

Picture01.jpg Picture02.jpg

Attachments

• Files.zip
    183.2 KB · Views: 11
As a rule of thumb always put PID/PIDE tasks in a periodic task.

When you make a change in open loop measure the time it takes for the PV to react. This doesn't have to be super precise just get close. I take this time value and multiply by 20 and use that as my time interval for the periodic task.

It sounds like you are executing a slow process at too fast of a scan rate.

Keep in mind the autotune will get you close, you will most likely have to do some trending and tweaking to get it where it needs to be.

Good luck!!

Yes, you are right. The scan rate is too fast for this process, I was just trying to keep it as it was originally. Today I decided to create two new tasks. I created a 2000ms task for the PIDE and a 10ms task with higher priority for the SRTP to make it more accurate. In addition, I changed the SRTP Cycle time from 5 to 10 secs. When I tried the autotune again, I only received one warning “Warning: Observed PV change was too small.” should I set a higher setpoint and repeat the autotuning?
However, I will proceed to calculate the time interval for the PIDE periodic task as you suggest.

Fastresponse_SP80.jpg