Any mechanical engineers here?

mandzhalas

Hi
I am second year mechanical engineering student interested in PLC programming as a career choice.
Looking at job advertisements it looks like only electrical and electronic engineers are getting hired for this type of job. However i think company would benefit having someone who understands mechanical part of the system and knows PLC. I do have however extremely little knowledge of electrical systems.

Would it be hard for someone with very little electrical knowledge to learn plc?

If you are mechanical engineer working with plc's please share your experiences.
Also what is the best way to get started? From what i can see Siemens and Allen Bradley are the choice of plc here (Ireland)

Thanks

Last edited:
My degree is in mechanical engineering, but I've spent the better part of a 45-year career doing machinery controls. There are several other regulars here with a similar background. I would wager that someone with a only mechanical background is better equipped to come up with the correct size motor to drive a load than someone with only an electrical background.

I am second year mechanical engineering student interested in PLC programming as a career choice.
I've lost count of the number of times I've had to make this point. There aren't many jobs where all you do is program PLCs. The PLC is only one tool out of many that you need to master to be able to implement a robust control scheme for a machine or process.
Looking at job advertisements it looks like only electrical and electronic engineers are getting hired for this type of job.
That's only because so many of the components used to control things are electrical.
However i think company would benefit having someone who understands mechanical part of the system and knows PLC.