PV800 download problem

KevinIowa

Hi All,

I am a very new AB user but recently started a project with a PV400 touchscreen. Using the CCW version 10 software I can download the program via Ethernet but it takes a very long time. After clicking Download it first says "Unloading application... System is busy" which takes over a minute. Then I click download again and it prompts with "A file with that name exists. Overwrite?" I click yes and 45 seconds later it finally says the download was successful. Then I have to power cycle the HMI (which takes another 25 seconds) for the new program to run. Are these steps really necessary to update the program? Maybe I'm being impatient but it seems like this process should take 10-20 seconds, not 2+ minutes. Are there other methods to download a new program to the PV800?

Thanks for your help.
Kevin

Allen Bradley makes great PLCs. I have no experience (and don't plan to) with the Micro8x0 series. I also avoid all of their HMI products and the reason is clearly illustrated by your post.

If you want an HMI that boots in 7 seconds and can be updated with changes in about half that time, try Red Lion. You might have to pay a little more for a Kadet (I have no idea what the Painelviews cost) but time is money and you will $ave plenty of time.

Plus, you can try it for free with the Crimson 3.0 emulator. Red Lion HMI products all use the same free software and support over 300 drivers most of which will work in the emulator. The emulator acts just like the real hardware (with a couple of limitations) and will let you develop your application before spending any money (except for your time).

Last edited:
Thanks a lot for the replies. It really seems like I don't have a configuration setting quite right. It has two USB ports on it so I'll research if it's possible to download through that instead. Does anyone know if it's necessary to power cycle the PV800 after downloading a new program to it?

Thanks,
Kevin