Control Logix 5555 / PANELVIEW 550

Tim ODell

Lifetime Supporting Member
I am new to this and gotten my hands on the follow device for learning. Was told it was fully functional, but have ended up finding it not to be the case.
Control Logic 5555 using the Control Net Communication Bridge module 1756-cnb/0 with a 550 Panelview Display.
The PLC is showing the red light for a dead battery which I have just order.
On The Display I am get the following messages.
634 Com error = 9022 0,7
636 Communication Interface Alert. Initial Write Fail Node=2
634 Read fail Node=2
Was all this do to the battery? Or something worse?
I have the user manual on the Display but haven't found my answer yet
Can anybody shade some light on these error

Thanks

Do you have any leading "0" in the IP address?

Example.

If so remove them

And welcome to the forum...

Last edited:
On The Display I am get the following messages.
634 Com error = 9022 0,7
636 Communication Interface Alert. Initial Write Fail Node=2
634 Read fail Node=2
Was all this do to the battery? Or something worse?
It would be useful if you provide the part number of the PanelView.

I suppose the PanelView is connected to the PLC via ControlNet. Since the battery is dead, the program is lost and the PanelView can not find any declared tag.

I am sorry for omitted this info
The Panelview 550 is a Cat. 2711-B5A15 / Ser.F / Rev.L / Frn. 4.20
It is connected to the PLC by ControlNet using an Allen Bradley 1756-CNB/D / Series. D / F/W Rev. 05.22

We know the processor's BAT indicator is solid Red.

But...

Is the processor's OK indicator solid Green?

Is the processor's RUN indicator solid Green?

If not, then it is likely that your processor is "running" on empty.

Tim ODell said:
...I am new to this...

Are you completely new to the Logix Platform or just to say ControlNet communications?

What, if any, Rockwell software do you have available to you?