I have joined the club....

David_Emmerich

Lifetime Supporting Member
Hi group
It seems that I have joined the PM/Email club...I sure do not mind getting these, but I do believe that the writers will get better answers here , from all of us as a group. Here is an email I recieved this morning, I have sent him a reply as to my posting it here.
Hi David,
> I am a Controls Engineer over in Illinois, and my background is heavy
>in the power industry with Fanuc's and a bit of AB SLC 500's. I just did
>two years in Ct working for a Fuel Cell comapnay and it was not a super
>fit culture wise. We have returned to Illinois where life is at a better
>pace. I have about 8 years worth of PLC experience, 12 in I&C. So here
>is my question and it may seem simple but its making me do a lot of
>hunting at the logic I was handed.
>The system I am about to build is a conveyer system with a SLC 500. IT
>consists of a 4 motors and zones in the lower conveyer and lift zone and
>then 4 zones along an upper conveyers. The system can move forward and
>reverse.
>While I would expect sequencing logic dependiong on phto eyes and
>proximity probes I see in addition this N7:X / XX indexing thing taking
>place. So my question is:

>(1) is there a good conveyer logic cookbook out there

>(2) Do you know of any web sites I could use

>3) Have you run into bit moves and binary indexing in the past in
>such systems and why ?

>(4) By chance is there any good folks you know who have a strong
>conveyer knowledge I could chat with.

>Thanks for your time and consideration. Will keep you web site handy for
>my nuclear buddies as well.

>Dave Ketchledge
>Controls Engineer
>

Alright, who wants to go first?

David :site:

I'll have a go at it :)

re 2): If your question is not really PLC related maybe the eng-tips forum is more suited to you.