Sending info to an S7

bob.southall

Hi all

Apologies if this has been covered, I am new to communication on PLC's, I can read and write basic ladder but haven't ventured any further than that thus far.

I have a project that I would like some advice on. I have a customer with an S7 343-1 lean net module installed on a strapping machine. This machine needs to use 2 characters of information generated by the customers stock system to tell my strapper what to do with the pallet of product.

I would like to send 2 characters (just 2) for the PLC to read and use as information for further processing. The program is already written for using the data, I am just unsure of what to advise the stock system manufacturer. They are going to write a program and want to send the information on TCP/IP.

I RJ45 of the 343-1 is used for profibus connection between the strapping machine and a shrink wrapping machine.

The questions I am posing then are as follows.

Can I use the other to setup a communication link to a PC? What is the best way to go about this? What information do I need to give the software developer? How do I setup the communication in TIA?

I have looked at a lot of posts and a lot of siemens help forums but a lot of it is quite involved and seems to be more complex than my requirements (perhaps I am just hoping my solution is simple?!).

Regards, Bob

I RJ45 of the 343-1 is used for profibus connection between the strapping machine and a shrink wrapping machine.
Maybe you mean Profinet, not Profibus ?
But that also cannot be right, since a 343-1 LEAN cannot be a Profinet IO Controller.
So I am guessing that there is some kind of standard ethernet connection (not a Profinet connection) between the two machines.
Either an S7 connection with the CP343-1 acting as server for the partner as client.
Or a Send/Recive connection. It is irrelevant for the connection to the PC though.