Remote rack

ccreager3

I have a SLC 500 with a 5/03 processer. I have a scanner card in slot 7 of a seven slot rack. In the remote rack I have an ASB card that does not allow block transfer. The next two slots are an input and an output card which work. The fourth card is an analog input which I can't get to work. Any ideas

Welcome to the forum.

I'm no expert by no means.

check your dipswitch settings on each card.
check the programming again.
check the wiring at each end of the cable
are you using termination resistors?

look up any messages on the scanner card.

james

In the remote rack I have an ASB card that does not allow block transfer.

The 1747-ASB DIP SW3-7 needs to be in the OFF position if the remote rack contains specialty modules thus requiring Block Transfers; it is defaulted to ON (Digital modules only).

You have to be careful with the term rack.

You mentioned that you have a scanner module in slot #7. We will assume that is in the same chassis where your 5/03 is located.

You mentioned you have an ASB module in the remote chassis. We will assume it is in the leftmost slot.

Now that ASB module has dip switches that define the Staring Logical Rack #, Starting Logical Group #, and the Adapter Image Size. Plus other things like whether or not to allow Block Transfer, complementary I/O, etc....

By selecting that you do not want to allow BTR/BTW that means all data transfers have to be done discretely. Now lets just assume for a moment that you have configured your ASB for 1-slot addressing and your rack # is 00 and your group # is 0. We will also assume that you have configured it for one full rack (8 Logical Groups). Lets also assume it is a 10-slot chassis.

Now that means:

Slot #0 ASB Module
Slot #1 Rack #0 Group #0 with reserved SLC 500 addresses I:7.0 and O:7.0
Slot #2 Rack #0 Group #1 with reserved SLC 500 addresses I:7.1 and O:7.1
Slot #3 Rack #0 Group #2 with reserved SLC 500 addresses I:7.2 and O:7.2