OT: HSTS garbage

Our plant IT gurus are slowly killing off everybody's ability to do anything productive around here, including my ability to search RA's knowledgebase. This has been a problem for awhile now, and lately seems to be getting exponentially worse. I've tried doing some research on the matter, only to find half a million *possibilities*. As I am still learning the ins and outs of intranet security, I would appreciate a gentle shove in right direction 🔨 This problem does not affect me while on home network, or on mobile network. Only on plant wifi. We have other laptops that are company issued that work on way more sites such as Grainger.com (I have issues just loading pictures!) to which I've tried copying/exporting certificates, which didn't help. I know enough to know that I don't know what I'm doing. Any suggestions are much appreciated. 🤞🏻

I fear the day I am locked out of PLCS.net....I think it might just be a matter of time...

HSTS_Problem.JPG

There is probably little you can do. They are likely limiting access via their proxy server.

Luckily our IT guys aren't complete tossers and i can just fill out a form and get access. However they can unblock some outgoing ports e.g. VNC.

So all I do is use the hotspot feature on my mobile. Company data plan, problem solved.

As saffa said, it is probably related to some proxy. However, they might not be blocking the site, they may "just" be capturing/monitoring the traffic. Proxy software used to be able to get away with removing the encryption or doing a man in the middle attack where they take establish the connection with the site, and then a different connection with you, and forward data from one to the other.