ControlLogix & FactoryTalk Batch: Design Ideas

I've got a new project coming up involving these two platforms. Unfortunately, I'm not really a PLC programmer, and consequently I have about 5 mins worth of experience with ControlLogix PLCs, and no experience with Factory Talk Batch - but that's my problem for later. Right now, we're only in the User Requirements phase, which means high-level functional requirements: control of conveyors, feeders, solution mixing, dryers, and some level of packaging and cleaning functionality. I'd like to end up with a system that not only fulfills these functional requirements, but goes beyond that with additional features the Operator(s), or Maintenance Techs would appreciate. In other words, I'd like the system to have a "WOW" effect, if that's possible.

What kinds of ideas do you guys like to (or wish you could) incorporate into your systems (hardware or software) to make them more usable, smarter, reliable, or just for the "WOW" effect?

Last edited:
Sounds like a big project, and given you have no experience with a ControlLogix and none with batch, you shouldn't even care about a "wow" factor right now. You need to be doing a lot of homework to build a good foundation to make this functional, worry about wow factor when you have the time and budget to do so.

1. Become very familiar with S88
2. Learn about "Phase Manager" in ControlLogix
3. Build standard code to lay the ground work
4. Learn about FT batch of course
5. I assume FT View SE goes with this? Life just got harder...PlantPax?
6. Design documentation? You mention URS, but don't forget you'll have to create Functional Specs so you know the details of what you need to program. Understanding the process P&IDs.

Sorry to be a downer, but "wow" factory is not a priority until you know exactly what you are working with any how to get the most out of it.

Paully's5.0,