Beginner looking for advise

Coach

Hello,

I am a hobbyist looking for an upgrade to my current equipment. At the moment I use a dedicated 4-in/8-out Serial I/O board with a home computer to control an animated display. The computer coordinates activities while playing a synchronized sound track. I have written the controlling software in Basic with rudimentary I/O commands. What I would like is to expand the system by having a programmable controller execute one of many preprogrammed I/O sequences selected by receiving a signal from the host computer. Is there an inexpensive system that would fill the bill? A minimum of 16-out and 4-in would get me started, but I would like the system to be expandable. I would also like the ability to add stepper motor driven displays at some point.

As a little background, I have years of experience as an electrician servicing older technology injection molding and gear cutting equipment. I was pretty good with ladder logic in an analog relay environment. NC/CNC was just coming into play when I left that industry and starting a second career developing business software.

Best regards, Harry

Many choices

Harry,
I suspect most of the major players in the PLC world would have something to fit your needs of I/O and cost. The first two that come to mind are Automation Direct and Allen-Bradley. The AB Compact Logix series is a very small and relatively inexpensive system as I am sure Automation Direct will have a comparable model. You can look at the Allen-Bradley stuff at www.AB.com and Automation Direct has a web site as well. Good luck!

Awwww, Mike. Why did you go and remove the customer #?

Now I can't order a few thousand dollars worth of stuff on your account... bawling

beerchug

-Eric

While these prices are pretty good I have been looking at used stuff on ebay. Seems like a lot of Allen-Bradley and Modicon equipment out there. Is either of these ssytems easy to work with?

Thanks again,
Harry