education

bulletin blues

Lifetime Supporting Member
I like to work with plcs'.
I consider myself a "Glorified Electrician"
I have spent approximately 10 years doing the electrical
maintanece in a couple of steel manufacturing environments.
I have plenty of experience dealing with the fun stuff that
comes along with heights, heat, and dirt.
I have taken some general plc courses but have never enrolled
in the advcanced courses. (they cost bucks...no college credit)
I have consistently become more and more involved in the
plc trade.
I am presently enrolled to complete an associates degree
in Industrial Electricity. I am aboout 6 classes away.
When I went to school 10 years ago, I never bothered to take the General Requrements, such as humanities.
I never saw the relevence, although...
I am finding these classes quite interesting, now that I
am a bit older...
So my questions revolve around becoming a well Qualified
PLC tech without the Bachelors Degree.

More and more, I find that it would be useful to obtain computer related
certification.
I am presently taking a network plus certification course
(which has no effect on my Industrial Electrical Degree??)
It also seems that getting A+ certification may be quite desireable.
Or should I lean toward v.b.
Or should I just focus on the advanced Plc progamming courses that
do not apply towards college credit.
Or should I just focus on Math,Math,Math
I realize that "All of the above" would answer my question
but I just want some feedback for now.

I just wonder what certifications you all have, who are not
electronic engineers.

Thanx for listening.

Last edited:
bulletin blues said:
More and more, I find that it would be useful to obtain computer related certification.