RS 232 for S7 300 Urgent!!!

coe

hello all
i am new to ladder programming, i am using S7 300 PLC, i am unable to figure out how to send data to the plc (control commands) through rs232 cable i'll be glad if somebody can help me with this.
details: basically i have a program that should contol a process after receiving qeuries submmited by user from PC. i need to know how to send these queries (numbers or strings) to the plc and how the plc can read them. my plc is s7 300 from siemens it has one serial port only used for downloading the program

Last edited:
Hi there

You've got a long way to go on this.

The 9-pin port on the S7-300 is serial, but it uses RS485 electrically (not RS232) and it uses a Siemens' proprietary protocol, MPI.

To get something like unformatted ASCII characters or strings in to the PLC over RS232 you will require another module, a CP340 or CP341 comms card. There a number of standard function blocks for handling the data in the CP340 and CP341.

You want to know how to send these strings to the PLC? Well, it depends what you're sending them from. A PC? Another PLC? An IBM Blue Gene/L supercomputer?

You've not really given anything like enough under the heading 'details'. What you gave there is barely an overview. At the time I'm writing this 37 other people had viewed it without answer. You really need to flesh things out a bit.

Regards

Ken.

thanks ken

i have the s7300 plc giving output to drive circiuts of motors. these motors are supposed to move one head along three axes to bring an item. the user should request the item he wants thru LAN. requests can be taken from any pc in the lan to one server.

i was wondering if this server can then send the request thru serial port to the port in the plc.

regarding the cable i got from siemens an adapter that assures the data transfer from the RS232 to the RS485 (we use this to download the program to the plc from the pc.