New to forum- first question

Bucky

First of all, howdy! I have learned a lot the last few days just following the threads on this site- you seem like a great group. I am a reletively new mechanical engineer, and have a desire to learn more about PLCs both to be more competetive in the market, and because I have several hobbies that could benefit as well. My first question is has anyone heard of CTC controllers? I have their low-end unit: www.ctc-control.com/products/2601.asp
I know that this unit can do "stuff", but I really want to learn the programming of the mainstream controllers. What is your advise as far as a reasonable controller and company that I could learn the fundamentals with, or should I just learn this company's proprietary software, and go on from there?

Thanks in advance,

Bucky

Depending on your time frame I would go on to learn TTL Logic first.

With $20 of hardware and a book there is no limits to what you can accomplish.

Then if you still are interrested you should have no problem porting this knowledge to any brand.

Logic is not brand specific only Accountants are. 👨🏻‍🏫

Get Phil's book and/or video here and also grap the eval verison of LogixPro (sp?) from www.thelearningpit.com/lp/logixpro.html after that if you still haven't lost your interest, consider getting used Allen Bradley PLC from eBay so you can do some REAL stuff. Yes, ladder logic is all the "same" but AB is the defacto standard here in the US and it looks good on the resume.

I don't know what your budget is, but it's hard to beat Automation Direct's prices.

D0-05DR $99.00
PC-PGM-105 $99.00
D2-DSCBL $30.00

For $228.00 you can have a PLC to practice on including the software to program it. There is lots of AD stuff out there.

Other PLC manufacturers offer starter packages at reduced prices. Ask your local distributor.

Wow, funny you should mention the CTC 2061. I just had a customer have one of these go down.