PID loops

I am a project Engineer from india
i would like to known how to find PID loops in process
if i had one VFD (variable speed drive ) how to control speed using
5 or 6 PID loops

Regards,
Sandeep Patil

Sorry, i don't understand your question.

What do you want to do ?
Do you have to apply a frequentie convertor with a PID control?
Or do you have to figure out how a frequentie control works with an existing PID?

Jurgen

PID Loop

I have 5 parameters
& one VFD
1. Suction pressure
2. case pressure
3. discharge pressure
4. discharge temp
5. motor amps

so based on these loops is it possible to control VFD speed

regards
sandeep patil

OK, this info is more usefull.

The way I would look at the problem.
Use only one PID for the output to the frequency convertor (only use the PID if you need it, you probably do but anyway).

Determin what all the input variables have as function to the output.
In other words work out an formula with all the variables inside that you mentioned. And keep in mind what you are going to use as setpoint for the whole regulation. Wich variabel do you want to keep as a setpoint.
If you want to make all the variables as a setpoint you will get a hell of an equation in the end, but still possible. The key here is to determen the influens, interaction between the inputvariables. Try to put them in a formula to each other. Then try to combine all the formulas and simplify the hole bunch of them.

At this point it would be nice if you post the result of your effort. I bet a lot of the guy's (ladies) would love to help you out in the formula department.

When you have the end result you will have to put it in a PLC. Tell us what kind of PLC you have a we micht be able to give you some advise how to implement the nice result of the formula's

Good luck !

Jurgen

I have done something similar, only on a gas transmission line. One valve with
Control of downstream pressure, backpressure, flow control, upstream under pressure.