Historian installation

hovsepian

Hello,

My name is Christian. I'm new in PLC programming. I am trying to install FactoryTalk Historian on a Windows 10 Pro Desktop. I have installed several programs successfully (including Microsoft SQL Server 2012), but when I want to install the FactoryTalk Historian Server I get an error. It reads:

"You can install FactoryTalk Historian SE Server on a server computer that meets these requirements:
-It runs one of the following Microsoft Windows server operating systems: 2008R2 64-bit with service pack 1, 2012 64-bit, 2012 R2 64-bit, and newer versions.
-It is not a domain controller.
The installation will be aborted now."

Will this mean that I can't run Historian in the same computer with the FactoryTalk View SE? Do I need to install a different operating system on this computer?

Thank you very much for the help.

I strongly recommend following the install instructions step-by-step. I am not familiar with FT Historian but for FT View SE installations I had that installation book highlighted and marked for everything and the order of install.

If you blindly install surely you will have problems. If the installation instructions say a server OS is required, then a server OS is required. If the installation instructions say it can't be installed with SE, it can't.

Don't just try to install FT software to see what happens.

I did follow the installation guide step-by-step, but I couldn't find any operating system requirements until the error that I am getting. What I don't want to do is buy an operating system software without being sure it is completely necessary.

FT Historian SE server always require Server OS. It is basically a re-branded OSI PI historian.