Failure PanelViews Connection in RSLinx

hhuong

Hi All, I am a beginner in PLC. Currently, I am trying to set up the communication between my laptop, SLC 5/03 and PanelViews 1000 in RSLinx. The PanelViews 1000 was connected to the SLC5/03 through the communication port. I have the cable (1784-PCM4/B) connected from the SLC 5/03 to my laptop which have 1784-PCMK/ B Card. However, I couldn't get the PanelViews communicate in RSLinx. Please help...
Thanks a lot.

The basic questions:

1) Which port on the SLC are you using to talk to the Panelview? (RS-232 or DH-485)

2) What is the whole part number on the Panelview?

3) What is the node number of the SLC?

4) What is the node number of the Panelview?

5) What is the node number of the Laptop?

6) Is the SLC and the PV communicating with each other?

7) Is the SLC and the Laptop communicating with each other?

8) What is the part number for the cable from the PV to the SLC?

Last edited:
1) Which port on the SLC are you using to talk to the Panelview?
RS-232

2) What is the whole part number on the Panelview?
Panelview 1000 CAT#: 2711-T10C9 SER: B

3) What is the node number of the SLC?
4) What is the node number of the Panelview?
5) What is the node number of the Laptop?

Sorry. I am not really sure what these questions mean.

6) Is the SLC and the PV communicating with each other?
Yes, Because SLC re-act according to the input at PV.

7) Is the SLC and the Laptop communicating with each other?
Yes, I can see the SLC communicating in my RSLinx.

8) What is the part number for the cable from the PV to the SLC?
CAT#: 2706-NC13 SER:A

In RSLinx did you need to configure the PV 1000 terminal driver. You will need to know the answers to 3),4), & 5)

Question 3, 4 & 5

I am sorry. How can I tell the node number of SLC, Panelview and laptop? Is it something that I can find from the software configuration?

Explain exactly what you mean by this: