runtime

panel1

I need a better way to capture elapsed runtime on a motor? Im using a Micrologix 1200 with real time clock onboard. How can the RTC be used in this function. Thanks for your help. Im new to PLC's and this forum.

PS... how can I count past 32767 on my counter?
attached file is RSlogix 500

One way is to use multiple counters, 1 for each digit...ie counter 1 counts up to 10 then resets and puts 1 count in counter 2, counter 2 counts to 100 puts a 1 in counter 3 then resets. The numbers can then be manipulated to show whatever is needed.

I just realized you mentioned ML1200, the newer ones support 32 bit signed numbers which gives you 2,147,483,647. See if yours wont work with Long Integers.

Last edited:
Best way to capture run time depends on a few factors:

- End Usage
- Required accuracy
- Normal mode of operation and duty cycle.

A few methods I've seen or used are:

1, have a minute tick timer, each minute the motor is checked and if it is running, the counter is incremented. This is best for plants where the motor runs for extended time periods.
This could also be changed to single second increments. One note of caution, you should try to use a real time source for the tick, since the PLC timers aren't always accurate for this type of application.

2, Log start/Stop event to a SCADA PC. Then write a program to extract and summarise this information. I find this one works well if you also use Citect, since it is fairly easy to extract the information this way. The main problem you can have is PC crashing, but this can be reduced by creating a log buffer in your PLC.

Martin T. said:
panel1,

Try to do a search on hour meters. If you don't find something I have a program with 11.41 years worth.

I didn't have much luck with hour meters search. I would appreciate a copy of your program. Thanks

rsdoran said: