Converting PLC5 to Studio5000 PIDs

ticknert

Hey all,

I'm pretty new to PLC programming and am on a team doing a PLC5 to Studio5000 conversion. After doing the built in conversion, I've begun to debug what didn't transfer correctly. One thing my mentor brought up is that the PIDs may update the way that I intend them to. I'm wondering if any of you have experienced this and what to watch out for, both in PIDs and general PLC5 conversions.

Thanks!

Welcome to the PLCTalk forum community !

PID equations require an accurate measurement of time in order to function correctly. In the PLC-5 PID, you had to both enter the Loop Update time and write logic that executes the PID once every time that Loop Update time elapsed.

The execution was sometimes done with Timer instructions, and sometimes with interrupt routines (STIs).

And often it was done by coincidence. Folks just put the PID equation on an un-conditioned rung so it executed every scan of the PLC-5 program, and then did their best to tune it with gain values that would work with that scantime.

The ControlLogix ladder-logic PID works the same way; you both enter a loop update time and execute the instruction periodically. You can use a Timer or a Periodic Task.

But if your logic was written without consideration of the loop update time, then the much faster ControlLogix will execute the instruction much more frequently, and the tuning gains won't work.

The ControlLogix Enhanced PID (PIDE) is a little more subtle; it is set up so that it inherits the loop update rate from the Task it's executed in. Those instructions are in Function Block routines, and are generally executed in Periodic Tasks.

There was a great thread on the topic a few months ago, and I'm sure other folks will have more input. But that's the basics.

something else to think about ...

are you keeping the PLC-5 platform's I/O (1771 style) - or replacing it all with new ControlLogix style hardware? ...