Siemens S5

zezito

Hello to all!!

althou i have some experience in S7, i'm not very familiar with S5...well, i'm not familiar at all!!!

command in S5 are diferent from S7! does any one can inform me what command theres are in S5 (commun to S7) and how they are written?

And what are the main diferences between S5 and S7?

I looked for this info in the internet but all i found was german literature, i don't get a thing!!!

Thankx in advance!!!
:)

zezito

Here are some links to Step5 manuals (in English) from the Siemens support site:-

Click here This one is for the Step 5 V7.2 software manual.

Click here This one is the 'pocket guide' to the CPU945, which contains the programming instructions used in S5.

They might contain the information that you require.

Paul

I have a lot of experience with S5 and S7 but I don't think I could list all the differences in a post. Anything specific? This is a broad subject. :rolleyes:

Cheers

Also, what kind of S5 do you have to work with ?
(90U, 95U, 100U, 101U, 115U, 135U, 155U, others..)

And what kind of programming software is available to you ?
("STEP5" - in what version, or "S5 for Windows", or other..).

Here are a FEW things I can think of, off the top of my head:

In S5 the variables are not assigned types as in S7 (no INT, DINT, WORD etc.). And therefore there is no typechecking.

The editor is MORE stringent when it comes to allowing the display to switch to LAD or FBD. If the code cannot fit on the screen, then it will display as STL.

There are no IEC timers. Only the fixed number of S5Timers are available. As you can easily run out of timers, programmers use numerous ways of making their own. The most "popular" is to use the S5Counters as timers.

You cannot address individual bits in DBs as you can in S7 (no DB1.DBX5.2 for example). This forces you to use Merkers as intermediary storage when manipulating bits in DBs.

Analog i/o is normally accessed via system FBs (FB250/FB251 if I remember correctly).