I'm trying to program 5k loadcells from motherboard/relay logic to SLC 5/05

Gjbsr

I'm new to programing, but not PLC's. I'm trying to write a program using either a SLC 5/05 or ML1000 to use the weight of 5k load cells to determine how long each componet (plastic pellets)should be dispensed. I basically want to dispense virgin material at any % I choose, calculate that weight, dispense regind % then the % of color until I have a total batch weight. :(

by attempting to write the program and then posting your code, it will be easier for someone to get a grasp of exactly what you're trying to accomplish. Be sure to document you logic well.

Ken

I just can't get over the hurdle of getting the program started. I guess I'm using the load cells as a starting point, it probably should be is the d-box empty, if so then.......... talk about a dull life I spent 6 hours at work today on this, now my wife's shopping and what am I doing?

Give it a shot, you'll get more replys if you show what your trying to do. If your using a 5/05 include all the modules and start trying to write the program, if you get stuck write what your trying to do and post what you have written.

Just about everyone here will try to help you, as long as they see you are trying. Some may give you a hard time, but at least your trying.

An alternate method - if you have the equipment available - is take it one step at a time. Start with a minimal program then add to it. Finish each step before going on to the next. The individual steps are mor easily managed.

1. Can I get a weight from the loadcell? If not, is everything hooked up correctly?

2. Is the weight accurate? If not, what do I need to do? Is the problem mechanical or a scaling problem?

3. Can I turn on any flow of material? Can I stop it? Can I stop it at a certain weight of accumulated material?

4. Can I calculate and use percentages to derive weights of the three types of materials?