TI plc

borbob

Hello,

I am new to the TI world having mostly worked with AB and was wondering about setting up a plc to measure log length in a sawmill, using an encoder and a Photo eye. Can someone help me with the logic on this.

Here's the link to the 505 programming reference manual.
505 MANUAL
Link to 505 homepage: 505 Homepage

Which plc are you using, 545, 555, 565, 575 ?
What software Tisoft, Softshop?

At the very least you are going to need a high speed pulse card, either a 505-7002 or 7003, and discrete I/O cards.
CTI also makes a lot of I/O cards for the 505: LINK
and if used/refurbed is an option try here: REFURB LINK

The high speed cards in the 505 work basically the same as the AB ones. You write a control word to the card every scan, used for resets and such. You read the count from the card. It is more like the SLC than the PLC-5's. There are no BTW & BTR type instructions in the TI. The I/O cards read and write directly to memory (Like SLC's).

The manual listed above should be a good start, it explains TI memory and addressing.

Follow up:
One of the major differences between TI and AB is how bits are adressed:

In AB bits are: 15,14,13....2,1,0 with bit 15 being the MSB.

In TI bits are: 1,2,3,...15,16 with bit 1 being the MSB.

Wow, I just experienced a flashback. I haven't touched a TI product since the early 80s, the 6MT series, and was surprised to find them at plccenter.com. :eek:

Info is sketchy, but the issue is the same. Start counting when the eye goes dark and stop counting when the eye goes light. Then convert the count into whatever units.. The linked thread above dosnt really provide info on the code or math for this. It only debates the method, vision or encoder.

borbob,