DC Motor Speed Control

chip7238

I've got an interesting problem that has been put on my plate.

I need to replace an old DC motor speed controller on a saw with a controller that can be integrated with an AD 205 PLC.

Here's the story - we have some ID saws on site (like the ones used to cut silicon boules) that are getting older. We recently converted one to run on an AD 205 PLC with touchscreen interface as a testbed for converting other saws. This arrangement has been working great, but one of the old parts we kept, the DC speed controller (for the blade speed) is going bad. Unfortunately, it doesn't look like we will be able to get a direct replacement for the part. It is now an opportunity to upgrade the functionality of the HMI a little more by integrating the speed controller with the PLC.

The motor being controlled is about 2HP 15A 200V DC.

I have some experience with PLCs, but this is my first foray into motor controls.

Let me know if there is more info needed. Any help would be greatly appreciated!

Thanks!
Chip

That shouldnt be a problem but you didnt state how you controlled the speed...is it more or less manual?

With the DL205 you could use an analog card that would work just like a potentiometer, which any controller can use...technically you could make the HMI show a pot and turn the dial or something similar to represent the speed.

Grainger sells a variety of DC controllers that could possibly be used.

To give a better idea of what I am saying. The HMI is setup for speed control, lets say based on RPM, full speed is 100 rpm. The analog output is setup to send a 0-10volt signal to the speed controller, 0v would be no speed and 10v would be 100 rpm...ie 1v = 10 rpm etc etc. On the display you may enter 50rpm and the analog card would output 5v. This is an example, the exact configuration would depend on the application.

It may also be possible to configure the speed to be automatic depending on the application.