SLC 5/05 and 1336 Plus

subjwd

I am in need of assistance. I have been programming PLC's and working with VFD's for a few years now, but I have been given a project for which I have no references.

I am using a SLC 505 and (2) 1336 PLUS's. Per the specs, the PLC is to be set up as rack 1 and the (2) 1336's must be set up as remote rack's 2 and 3.

My question is what communications are they referring to here? Is this a Remote I/O configuration or is it something that is setup via Ethernet, or simply straight field wiring?

Generally, I have controlled VFD's using a straight 4-20mA signal, run enable and running/speed feedback.

How would you interpret this? Thanks for your help.

JD

It sounds to me like your customer is specifying the use of Allen-Bradley Remote I/O protocol (RIO, which was a standard part of PLC-5's).

You install a 1747-SN scanner module in the SLC-5/05 chassis, and run the twinaxial cable in a daisy-chain to the drives, which will be equipped with a 1203-GD1 or 1336-GM1 adapter.

The 1203-GD1 is an external adapter, and the 1336-GM1 is onboard the drive.

Usually the remote I/O Adapters are given "rack" numbers starting at zero in this setup. You could make one drive "Rack 0" and the other "Rack 1".

There is a lot of information about the drive interfaces at http://www.ab.com/drives

OK, I need a little further help then. I haven't done much Remote I/O work. Can you point me to a reference of how to set up these drives as Remote I/O to a SLC 5/05?

As I said, I always did 4-20mA signals before, without ever "assigning" VFD's. Can you point me to a reference that tells me how to set this up and how to program it, as in something that shows examples?

Again, thank you for the help.

JD

It's been awhile since I did this, and my memory isn't what it used to be, so my information may not be correct. I'm doing this from home and don't have all my usual "resources" with me.