New to PLC's, First Question

Grover

Hi everyone.

This is my first post and first question. What a great forum!

I have 20 years exerience in electronics, but I am new to the world of PLC's. Ladder logic is coming along, but not quickly enough for what I need to get done.

My first question is very simple (well, not for me at the moment) and it involves an AB SLC5. Once a timer (T4:4 for example) is done, I understand the DN bit gets set (1). When does the DN bit reset (0) and where did I miss that in the help file?

Grover

As long as the rung is true and your preset is reached the DN bit will stay set a 1, if you just want to keep cycling to your preset add a XIO T4:4.DN in the rung with the Timer. What are you using the timer to control? Knowing this might help with a better answer.

Jim & Martin,

Thanks for replying.

The rung goes true when:
- the motor start button is closed
or
- the T4:4 TT bit is set.

The rung output:

- T4:4 is a three second motor start delay.
and
- O:15/2 gets set to sound an audible alarm

It would appear that once the operator releases the start button the rung will go false, therefore, the T4:4 DN bit will reset. Did I get it right?

I don't think you've quite got it.

First, this is what, from your desrciption, I think your ladder looks like:

MOTOR
START BUTTON +-------- TON ---+
---+---| |---+-------------+ Timer: T4:0 |
| | | Time Base: 1.0 |
| T4:0.TT | | Preset: 3 |
+---| |---+ | Accum: 0 |
+----------------+

AUDIBLE ALARM
T4:0/DN O:15/2
-------| |-------------------------( )

What's going on is this:

When the operator presses the START button, for a moment or for a long time, the timer starts.

While the timer is timing (counting up to 3.0 sec), the Timer_Timing bit (T4:0.TT) is set (ON). This will keep "power" to the timer, even if the operator lets go of the button.

After 3 seconds, the done bit (T4:0/DN) comes on, sounding the horn.

Now here's the trick part: