encoder control with a plc

Andy

can anyone help me, im am trying to devise a program to control a dc motor, the motor is used for positioning of a backstop on a machine.
i have never done this before and im im looking for a start point or a example program that takes the encoder input and changes it to mm so it can be positioned. i have 3 more inputs which are max forward limit, max back limit and calibrate point limit and i want to write the size i want it to travel to from a location within the plc. the inputs from the encoder are a and not A so i know i will get a output that i assume will be BCD but if any one can help me on my way it will be apriciated.
cheers
andy

Could it be that you're really working with a pulse-type encoder?

Could it be that your limits are monitored by proximity switches?

Could it be that your backstop moves very slowly? Or, quickly?

Where are your sensors located relative to each other?

How are your sensors oriented?

With respect to your encoder information... I really doubt that it is in BCD form. I suspect it is a pulse-type encoder. In that case your PLC simply counts pulses. If the encoder is moving "Forward" the PLC counts "UP". If reverse, the PLC counts "DOWN". You have to maintain the Current "COUNT" to know where the back-stop is at any given time. Of course, as you indicated, there has to be a reference-point.

As far as "changing to mm", you need to know how many pulses represent 1-mm. Better yet, you need to know how many pulses represent 1-meter. You need to know how many pulses occur over the largest distance you can manage. At the same time, you want to have the largest number of pulses you can manage as well.