Help choosing a PLC

NewToPLC's

Hello I am new to PLC's, and I need some advise on choosing a PLC that will work for me, The project I am working on will need 10 or so I/O ports for DAC or ADC inputs, it will also need an onboard realtime clock, have the ability to store data and send it onto the net via a dialup Internet connection. I would also like to be able to dial into the PLC and retrieve the data manually. Cost is definatly a factor, however this system will need to be a UL listed device..

Thanks in advance
Carl
P.S. this is my first post here and as my name implies I am new to PLC's, SO YOU REGULARS, be nice LOL

Well, first you're going to have to be more specific. 10 or so I/O, isn't a specification.

Questions you need to answer first:
Exactly how many discrete inputs?
Exactly how many discrete outputs?
Exactly how many analog inputs and type (1-5V, 4-20mA, RTD, etc...)
Exactly how many analog outputs?
Do you need the ability for online edits?

have the ability to store data and send it onto the net via a dialup Internet connection.

How much data storage?

You can't choose a plc, until you know what you need.
I would suggest you start a spread sheet with a list of all your physical devices, what type of input or output they require, scaling, tag numbers, location, mfg. etc...
Also a P&ID of the process would very useful.

try this thread:http://www.plctalk.net/qanda/showthread.php?s=&threadid=11298&highlight=I/O+list

Ken

Last edited:
I look at it another way...what brand are you most likely to deal with in the future. Do you work for a company now that is using a certain brand?

As far as pricing and the basic features you mentioned then Automation Direct has those even in the DL05:
http://web2.automationdirect.com/adc/Shopping/Catalog/PLC_Hardware

Online edits can not be done on most "brick" (small I/O) type units but data collection/monitoring can be done...even via a modem. AD offers modems etc too.