newbies

WwIDGIEwW

I'm new to this site, but I've been working with PLC's for almost 10 years. I started programing with function keys, and am now playing with ControlLogix. I guess I learned through a lot of trial and torment, but I've obviously missed something. I see a lot of comments on this site like "the project must be due tomorrow." Are there college courses out there that teach PLC's and the students come here for help, or is there a wave of newly hired programmers that I should be wary of?

Welcome!

There are a lot of colleges out there that actually do teach plc's. Then there are some that give assignments, and those come here for their traffic light, flip flop, and other basic programs.

You can learn a lot by clicking on the learn plcs button above. Also the tape and book come highly recommended.

Several brands of plcs have catalogs and on-line manuals that provide excellant training. Factory and Distributor schools were plentiful (and free) when I learned. Now they are high priced.

Some of the strange posts you see are new programmers, Some are NOT so new. Some are really obvious students.

ControLogix is rough on some people, but there is a lot of assistance here.

I, however, am limited to AB older stuph, and the simpler newer stuph. I am most familiar with GE Fanuc, Moeller, and Entertron. I have used over twenty brands of plc's, some only a couple times. These iclude Koyo/Automation Direct, Allen Bradley, Cutler-Hammer, Reliance, Sixnet, Opto 22, Omron, IDEC, TRI, Keyance, Panasonic, Modicon, Mitsubishi, Siemances, and on. Several I will never touch again.

Having a good background in Allen Bradly is something excellant to have. With it, other software is sometines easier to understand, and where ever you go, someone nearby will be using AB.

best regards.....casey

Last edited:
WwIDGIEwW said:
...is there a wave of newly hired programmers that I should be wary of?...