micrologix 1000 software?

bryanadmin

Hello all,
I am a newbie to the world of plc's so excuse me if this sounds stupid. We are modifying some equipment here at work at came across a AB micrologix 1000 , is the rslogix 500 software the only one capable communicating and manipulating this device?

bryanadmin

I am not an AB expert, but I have the ML1000 in my home.

You asked:
...is the rslogix 500 software the only one capable communicating and manipulating this device?

Do you mean by "communicating and manipulating": programming?
If so, then the answer is Yes, RS500 is the only software that can be used for ML1000 programming, and note that you need RSlinx too foe establishing the communication.

Last edited:
ayman metwally

I was afraid of that. What is the use of a plc if the only people that can interact with it is the people that have the software and special cables required. I sure as heck dont want to spend $1000 bucks to change a couple of ladder lines. I cannot believe that there is no kind of universal software to communicate to plc's , that simply requires a driver for each unique device.

bryanadmin

gbradley

What does 10 point mean? Does that mean 10 total I/O points?I have downloaded that software but i havn't had a chance to try anything yet , since the next step is for me to purchace the $60 cable to talk to it.

bryanadmin

Yes If you want to use that one, buy the software.
You could buy a couple of 10 point on Ebay.
By the time you're finished messing around with getting two Plc's coordinated, you can probably pay for the software. ;)

there's "starter" ... and then there's "starter" ...

the FREE "starter" version of RSLogix500 will ONLY program the small 10-point MicroLogix ...