Toyota ECU,sensors,relays,switches,motors RECYCLE - possible???

ianhs

I
I am a senior citizen newbie to PLCs though I can read basic and pascal, vb3, know ohms law. My 1st wish is to get low cost assembled kit, rig it up and ready to use. No such thing!
Then I may like to investigate its internals later. na (not applicable- unless you painstakingly get the tools, meters, oscilloscope, kits and DIY)

So I setout to look, and OMG, I am stumped - from z80...NS,microPic etc.. to lynix to cygwin, and now I am bogged with cygwin and cygwin/x installation, and wondering why having all this pain to get a look n feel of windows. Makes
MS Windows a class in its own, in the lynix,cygwin arena.

This PLC idea started when I open up a toyota crown 1984 efi module, the later ones arecalled ecu (electronic control unit) or the toyota onboard computer.

There are few toshiba ic's -
t2174b, t2175a, t2465, t2467.
(8legs), (8legs), (12legs), (8legs),
per side of the ic.

I search the net but was not able to find out more about this ICs, I think they are the microprocessor / eprom as such.

Is it possible to reprogram the EFI / ECU module to control exisiting automotive relays / switches /sensors / stepper motors etc ?

This can be used for backyard or farm projects to measure temperature, start
a pump, automate the cooks shed, foxes and vermins security..etc using wrecking / recycle parts.

Has anyone done something like this before, your comments are most appreciated.

Can it be done? Possibly
Is it practical? Probably not!
Would it work well? Probably not
Would it be inexpensive? NO!