Commissioning

I'm relatively new to PLC project work, so please excuse my ignorance.

When commisioning, what events occur, and in what order.

I assume that firstly comes the IO checks.

Last edited:
Assuming that the electrical safety checks have been done and the correct supplies are available.

1. Isolate all of the outputs that may cause a hazard if they turn on. Such as switching off motor MCBs etc.

2. THEN TEST THE EMERGENCY STOPS AND THE GUARD INTERLOCKS

3. Test the inputs with the outputs isolated - ABs have a test mode that will run a program but with no physical outputs.

4. Again ensuring that nothing dangerous will operate, test the outputs by forcing them on from the PLC.

5. with the outputs STILL DISCONNECTED, start testing the various functions, I write programs so that I can turn off modules and test them in isolation. So test your I/O modules first and then start adding in each of your functions until each module has been tested only with the other modules it needs to function.

6. Start adding in modules until the whole program and machine has been tested together.

7. Finally re-connect the outputs and try it with the real machine on the end - this is where you find that it doesn't actually work like you thought it would.

8. Go back as far as you need to and do it all again.

Good luck - I accept no liability for any outcome from the content of this message, readers are responsible for ensuring the safe conduct of any commissioning work they undertake.

No way, never allowed the time for this,

4" x 4" x 4' length of timber to turn on isolator & subsequent MCB's its always a blast to see how the machine interpets the c~#p you wrote/programmed & hookup...............

Just for fun of course :D :D

best to be drunk on the job than off it :rolleyes: