Analog in RSLogix?

stasis

as stated before, I'm new to this stuff,so, ...how do I set the values/functions of analog inputs for a 1500?

Let me explain what I'm trying to accomplish, then maybe you guys could point me in the right direction.

I have a 0-10 VDC encoder on a shaft (yes, still doing the jam detector...see other post). I would like to make the function as follows:
0V to 2V = dormant
3V to 6V = initiate sub-routine 1
7V + = initiate sub-routine 2

I know I'll have to use comparators for the JSR.

any help? I'll post the program when I'm done for your comments...

The source A and B in the lim instruction should be entered in the raw integer format.
Image2.jpg

responding to the first part of your answer...not sure what you mean by 'raw integer format'. I can write this program out in PicoSoft without the sub-routines, but I'm not familliar enough w/ Logix.

ok, I figured out what I was doing wrong when inputting the fields. However, now there are question marks under the fields that I put a # value in, like this:

Limit Test
Low Limit 3
?
Test I:0/6
?
High Limit 6
?

so, what am I missing/not understanding?

stupid enter key...grrr. Anyway, the error I'm now getting is 'Address must be specified to the word level' and I'm not sure what that is...In my defense, I did say this stuff was all new to me.

Try entering your Test value as I:0.6, which is a word level designation. I:0/6 is a bit level designation, which is why Logix is complaining.

Keith

Sorry I was so brief.

The low limit and high limit have to be entered in the integer format. Your analog card is going to give you a signed integer input value between 0 and 32767 which corresponds to 0 to 10 volt. What you enter for the low and high limit is a percentage of that full range. For instance one of the values you want to know is 6 volts, to figure out what the value should be simply figure out what 60% of 32767 is and plug that value into the lim instruction.

Does that make better sense?