Can you help me do some networking?

rangerfreak

Hi All!
This is my first time posting here, so be gentle...

I am new at the PLC side of our equipment, and enjoy it greatly. Only thing is, I now have a project to try to work up and impliment if possible. We do not have a very good set of documents to go by, so I was hoping you may be able to help.

We have extrusion lines in the house with AB SLC-5 PLC's installed, and we are wanting to network them all together to track line speeds, etc.

What all would I have to do to do this fairly easy and cost effective?

They want the data to be accessable from 1 or possibly more PC's. We allready have a in house network set up for the usual PC's, but the lines are not included yet. Is it possible to do this without a lot of extra equipment,etc.?

Thanks in advance for even reading this!

Also, what kind of software would you use for something like this? ANY input or ideas are greatly appreciated!

Last edited:
Hello.
I'm also new at this but I just want to try my guess. Modbus for communications between PLCs and link up to maybe a PC or more PCs with scada network. So maybe processors with a scanner module or with Modbus might do.

Am I correct to say so?

regards
Sherine T.

Depending on the exact SLC-5 model, My first suggestion would be DH+ between the PLCs. Or if they are 5/05 PLCs then you could just use Ethernet directly. If you use DH+ I would suggest a DH+ interface card and RSLinx Pro. This route will require both of those for each PC that you want to be able to read the data on.

By SLC-5 I assume you mean 5/05 which has a built in ethernet port.

What is the distance between the lines, and the collection point?
How are you going to collect/use this data? Some type of SCADA package? OPC?
Are you planning on connecting you mfg. and business LAN's together? If so, what about security?

Hello again.

I am almost positive in saying that they (the CPU) is a 5/03. I will look at them tonight to be sure though.