Off-line Programming?

bob_e70

Hello, I'm studying PLC's at college and need to know what Off-line programming is and what are it advantages and disadvantages.

Can anybody give me an answer to help me on my way?

Thanks guys!

Offline programming is where most of the programming work is done, say at your desk. The software is not connected to the PLC processor. After you're done with the bulk of the work, you can download it to the processor and certain processors will allow you to program will you're connected live to the machine.

Online programming allows you to edit, add, and delete while the program is running.

Robert

The main issue about online and offline programming is that with PLCs the device that executes the program is not the same as the one on which the program is created. This is unlike PCs where, for example, you write a Java or C application and then execute the application on the same machine.

With PLCs you usually use a PC to create the program and the PLC then executes it. If you do this while connected live to the PLC you are doing online programming. If you create the code away from the PLC and then download it at a later stage, you have been doing offline programming.

Simple as that.

Advantages and disadvantages? Thousands. Depends what you want. Immediate access, seeing your changes take place on the fly, getting an immediate response from things you've done? Go online. Don't want to be anchored at the end of cable in a cabinet beside a noisy, smelly machine somewhere? Go home and do it offline. Most PLCs don't have the ability to store any documentation for the program in their memory (I know Siemens S7-400's do) so any comments etc must be stored offline. No doubt others will chip in with ideas ...

Regards

ken.