Can I substitute 2 (4 x 12bits) analog output cards for 1 (8 x 12 bits) card?

pino

Hi, I'm new to PLC's, Can anyone please tell me whether I can substitute one siemens (8 x 12bits) analog output cards with two siemens (4 x 12bits) analog output cards and if possible how do I get by the slot addressing issue. Thanks.

The short answer is yes. The implementation will depend upon what you have, what you want to do, and what you are willing to do.

This explanation assumes you are working with an S7-300 or 400 (I am not sure about the S7-200s), and you have the STEP 7 Hardware Configuration software, and that you are willing to change the configuration.

Since we do not know your hardware configuration, let us assume you have the following. Also assume you let the system select the addresses, so you probably have the addresses as indicated.
Slot 4 - SM 332 Analog Output 8 channel (Addresses 256 - 271)
Slot 5 - SM 321 Digital Input 16 channel (Addresses 4 - 5)
Slot 6 - SM 322 Digital Output 16 channel (Addresses 8 - 9)

So, you replace the 8 channel analog card in slot 4 with a 4 channel analog output card in the same slot and put a second 4 channel analog output card in slot 7. The system may select the following addresses automatically.
Slot 4 - SM 332 Analog Output 4 channel (Addresses 256 - 263)
Slot 5 - SM 321 Digital Input 16 channel (Addresses 4 - 5)
Slot 6 - SM 322 Digital Output 16 channel (Addresses 8 - 9)
Slot 7 - SM 332 Analog Output 4 channel (Addresses 304 - 311)