Comparing Analog input in SLC504

ateav8gn

Semi-newbie here but here goes:

SLC504 with 4-20 analog inputs from gas monitors... how do I set in my GTR and LES statements what to compare it to?? Not comparing from monitor to monitor, each monitor is independent and seperate in different parts of the plant. I need one output to turn on somewhere mid range (say 12ma) and then second to turn on at 20MA. What do I use as my source 2 for my compare statements without wasting two inputs with a fixed currents (12 and 20 MA) just for reference? Set some arbitrary binary value to compare to or....

Any Help ya'll could provide would be GREATLY appreciated!!!

Drew H. Carlton

I'm not sure if this is the right way to do this or not...

The book for your 4-20 mA input card should tell you what value 4 mA equals and what value 20 mA equals. You may have to hunt for it, but it's there. Say its 4000 for 4 and 30000 for 20. Do the math to find 12 mA (have way in between). That should be 17000 in this example. Then use those values to set up the LES/GRT instructions. i.e. When monitor 1 is greater than 17000 set state 1. When monitor 1 is greater 30000 set state 2. So on and so forth. I've done something similar before with 4-20 mA output to VFD's. It works pretty good. Your other option is to set up the input currents and read the value. Hope this helps. What kind of gas are you monitoring? Just wondering.

Sportster

First use the scale with parameters (SCP) to turn the analog input value into a meaningfull engineering value then use the comparison blocks GRT, LEQ etc to compare this value to a data table set value ie N7:0 or F8:0

If you are using an NI8 card then this can be configured in may ways for the data the plc reads

Drop Down the data format box to see diffent examples

To get there

Go IO Config > Double Click on your analogue card (ie NI8)> Then click the Configure button

See Pic

Last edited: