Learning PLCs .... relatively quickly

ettore

Hello,

My name is Ettore (‘E’ for short) and I am a newbie EE straight out of University. I was recently hired by a small engineering/CAD firm who are in process of expanding into a full-fledged manufacturing/engineering facility in the next, say, year or so. Part of this expansion plan was to take their biggest money pit -paying outsourced controls guys for their controls stuff- and hire a new guy (me) to do it instead.

Well, this is a GREAT opportunity for me because I am now the only EE guy here and, thus, top of the food chain in that respect. However, it isn't good because my employers do not appear to have an exact plan of how to get from here (newbie EE guy) to there (Controls/Pneumatics guru) in the 6 months that they have allotted. This is where (I am hoping) this forum and it’s plethora of expertise comes in.

The types of jobs that we generally deal with are relatively simple in nature. Lots of proximities, cylinders, etc in relatively small scale ($1,000,000 project would be HUGE for us). Most of our machines are designed to replace one person to maybe a few simple jobs but typically involve at least one robot (usually Fanuc or ABB). For example, we are currently designing a system that loads crates of spark plugs which are then staged onto a rotating pallet by our new robot. A second robot (existing) then picks them up from the staged area and installs them into an engine. If it matters, I have no idea what type of PLCs we typically use; nor do any of the people that work here. I saw one CAD drawing with a GE VersaMax and I know that one of our customers (at least) is A-B only.