Step7 - Global variable + FirstTimeScan

Dariusch

Hi!

I am new to Siemens Step7 and are hoping for some little starthelp, Thanks.

I have made some FB, but would like to know if it is possible to use a variable defined in "Symbol Table" in any FB I have created??

Also do I have to make my own "First time scan" flag or is there some sort of system bit, that I can use?

Thank you

Dariusch

Edit//
By using the variable in FB I would like to know if it is possible to use ex. M100.0=Motor in a FB without using the "IN" for the FB.
Just by writing "M100.0" or "Motor" in my code in the FB.

But I also think if it is possible, that it would be hard debugging program if one dont know where the variable is used.

Thank you again

Dariusch

Last edited:
You can use (global) symbolic names in an FB example motor = M100.0You can enter 'motor' and you will see that global symbolic names become represented by STEP7 as "motor".

FB-parameters have also names but they get '#' before their name.

So if I write "Motor" in many diffrent FB they all act to the "Motor" from the OB1 for example?

How if I write to a global variable in many diffrent FB's. Will the var. be taken the status ("1" or "0") from the logic in the last FB then?

Dariusch

Yes; all FB's act on the same global variable "motor"

Yes; as a result of this only the last result of "motor" will be used for further logic.

If you want to know where every bit, timer, counter, ect. is used you can do this by opening the Block-folder in the Simatic Manager and choose;

Options / Reference data / generate

and then

Options / Reference data /display

In the subprogram 'Ref' you can switch between different reference data if you choose 'view' and change to a different subject that you want to see

1 more question.

Do I have to use a "global var." for exchange signal between different FB's or can I use the internal var. in FB1 and use it in FB2 with the same name?