PLC applications

Dinesh

Sir,

I'm an Engineeing student,doing my third year, interested in the field of Industrial automation.I've been searching for a very good application of PLCs in the above mentioned field.Could anybody help me in finding an application which could be taken as a project and can be helpful in learning more about PLCs.

thanh you

Last edited:
Dinesh,

You will probably want a project that will test your ability to apply what you have already learned.

There are many possibilites. PLCs are not just for turning on and off relays anymore. You will want to consider an application that uses analog I/O as well.

You might consider a diesel engine monitor, whereby you would monitor the oil pressure and temperature.

Another application might be a controller for a car wash. The digital I/O for the sequence. Analog I/O for monitoring water pressure and temperature. You could also use an analog input to measure the level of sluge in the resevoir tank using a variable resistor.

A third application, might be a home automation system, with motion sensors for outside lights, a real time clock for turning on outside lights. You could also control the heating and cooling units of the house.

Hope this gives you some ideas.

God Bless,

Stephen Luft

Contact a few manufacturers in your area. Offer them the following:

If they supply the project, you will estimate the cost of the hardware for free. And then, if the cost is within their budget, they will supply the hardware, you will program it for them for free. They may need to provide you with access to one of their engineers - not to do the project for you, but to provide you assistance and guidance as needed.