Training opinion?

darrenj

I am looking at a project where i am going to be using Motion control with control logix..I am going to be using 480v servos with resolvers built in.(harsh enviroment) using the Kinetics servo drive 6 axis..

Now i am complete NOOB at motion.. i know a little about encoders and how they work and resolvers..thats it..However i am not a dummy when it comes to this stuff..Hell i tought myself rslogix 5000 in a week..(the basics that is) and i can usualy pick things up pretty quick..i also have drive so working away till 2 or 3 in the morning till i understand stuff is not uncommon (Much to the wifes disgust!)

Question is i am looking at RA's traing course number CCN142.Prog. logix 5000 motion application's using ladder logix..has anyone taken this course? is is benifitial? They say the prereq. is basic use of motion..Is that true or can someone with half a brain catch up??

Thanks

D

I'm not familiar with the course - is it 1 week?
You could probably learn it on your own, but it would take longer. If it's a typical course, the first few days will be slow-paced, picking up on Thursday, party Thur night, all the interesting complex stuff on Friday morning and send you home after lunch just as your hangover is subsiding.

But you will need some sort of initial help to set you off in the right direction and the course is probably your best bet. I wouldn't be too worried about the pre-req.

Getting a good handle on the subject will take time and experience - no substitute for it.

There's a number of regulars on this site with the experience to help you over the humps - I have been working with ControlLogix and motion control for the past 6 years.

I hope someone experienced and knowledgeable has done the sizing of the motors, drives and gearing for your project - that part in itself is worthy of a course.