Student in need

Unregistered

U
Hi everyone,
I'm currently studying PLCs at college and have got an assignment to hand in today, can anybody suggest some answers for this question:
Name and Describe the various types of media used for communications (i.e. types of wire etc) in a modern PLC controlled system.
Any help i can get would be great.
Thanks,
me

Try saying something about protocols and connection types. like just because you can call france, doesn't mean you can talk to them you know.
i dunno, gonna go play cs:s now.

Try checking out some of the major PLC manufacturer web sites. (AB, Siemens, Modicon, GEFanuc, etc...) There are many protocols and associated media available and you should do the research yourself instead of having it handed to you on a silver platter. Next time don't wait until the last minute.

Good answer

Hydro Power Guy said:
Try checking out some of the major PLC manufacturer web sites. (AB, Siemens, Modicon, GEFanuc, etc...) There are many protocols and associated media available and you should do the research yourself instead of having it handed to you on a silver platter. Next time don't wait until the last minute.

Good answer there Hydro. Waiting until the last minute alwasy gets you in trouble......:sleep:

Maybe some of you have forgotten...

First and foremost Unregistered your question was too poorly phrased to offer am appropriate response.

Phillips link provides a lot of info. The main thing about communication is it can involve wiring standards and protocols, in some cases either of these may be proprietary. Even today the use of Ethernet may differ from brand to brand. Some of the more common forms are Modbus, Profibus, CANopen..others will probably chime in with more. Originally most plcs used either RS232, RS422 or RS485 wiring standards but may have used a proprietary protocol..AB has Df1, DH485, DH+... GE, with the Series 90, uses an RS232/422/485 connection with SNP.