SLC 5/05 wireless router

bengineer

Hello everyone, I'm new at this, so please be understanding. I am an Electrical Engineering student from Kettering University (formerly GMI). My boss wants me to connect to SLC 5/05's through wireless routers. We have a wireless network in the plant, but corporate IT will not help me out unless we upgrade everything, aka, spend $200,000. So I was thinking about hooking a wireless router to the SLC and possibly using it as an access point, and then connecting to the router though a wireless card on the laptop, but I may be completely wrong. If someone could give me an easy and cheap way to do this, I would appreciate it!

Ben

more info is definatly needed....

What do you wish to do with the SLCs once they are on this wireless network?
I've read that data accusation is difficult and slow/sluggish with wireless.

I've often dreamed that I could just have all of my Micrologix controllers on a wireless network so I could make program changes / eliminate call-ins and such. IE tell the maintenance guy whats wrong from the comfort of my own home :)

You can setup a simple wireless network with a Digi-One IAP, a dongle and a wireless card...
Just connect a AP or a router to a central location where you will have good signal for all of your devices.

Then again, someone will probably chime in with a better solution than me...just some food for thought.

Kettering University? Cool beans...are you currently working in Michigan?