STEP7 question

GEOFRA

Hi everybody!
I am new to STEP 7 and I would appreciate some help.
I am trying to write a LADDER program and I want to use a comparator. If i insert a comparator and on one input I insert MW4 or MD4 for example and on the other input I want to insert a value either in HEX DW#16#0002 , W#16#0002 or in decimal B#02 I get I message that I have a syntax error.Can somebodey help on this?
Can somebody clarify to me when to use an FC instead of FB and why?

the compare function compare two Integer, double integer or real numbers

to overcome this u can do so

l w#16#005
T mw 2

and then u compare the the two words

i think there are beter ways to do this

Another option is to disable type check on the addresses. In LAD/STL/FBD editor choose Options -> Customize, go to the LAD/FBD tab and uncheck the 'Type Check of Addresses' option.

Use an FC if it is not necessary to store the internal variables, iow if you don't need stat type parameters. Why? Because the number of FBs available is limited.

Kind regards,

Step 7

Thanks for the answers but I still need some clarification.
How can I use a comparator(LADDER) in order to compare two HEX or binary or integer numbers if I want to use a WORD/DWORD in one input and directly enter the number in the other input?
Can I have an FB without a related DB? If yes how can I call it in my OB1?
If I create a FB and write a program in it that does use only global variables and not any local ,if I have timers and counters in it do I need a DB to hold there current values or it will behave as a subroutine as it is in S7-200 series with MicroWin.Bare in mind that I use these values of counters and timers only in the FB and not outside of this.

Disclaimer, the following applies to 300/400 CPUs!

... and I'm not sure to what extent the 200s are similar.

I'm afraid I don't understand what your problem with the comparator problem is, so I can't help you any further there.